Word for 2013

This time of year, a lot of people are setting intentions and making resolutions, myself included most years.  As it turns out, I’m less good at resolutions than one would like. So rather than doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result, I’ve decided to try something different.

This year I’ve decided to go with a single feeling/theme I would like to cultivate in my life and not just another list of do’s and don’ts.

This feeling idea had been floating around in my head all month and was solidified when I overheard some yogi friends talking on Twitter about their year words {listening and compassion}, when Ashlee posted hers, Amy posted hers and Rosie posted this.

The feeling I most want to cultivate this new year is CONNECTION.

Connection – just the word brings up warm and fuzzy feelings for me. I am imaging a year full of new holiday traditions, lots of hugs and hand holding, cooking and eating with friends, snuggles under the covers with books and movies, book club meetings, phone/Skype dates, road trips/vacations, meeting friends for tea, lunch and movies, communing with nature as much as possible and finding time on my mat just being quiet.

What about you? What comes to mind when you hear the word CONNECTION? What word or theme speaks to you this year?

Image source: We Heart It

16 thoughts on “Word for 2013

  1. Pingback: Making The Most of Summer Break: Summer of Intentionality | Teacher Goes Back to School

  2. Pingback: Who Is Your Go-To Girl? « Teacher Goes Back to School

  3. Pingback: Be Your Own Valentine! « Teacher Goes Back to School

  4. Pingback: Ten Things I Loved In January « Teacher Goes Back to School

  5. Pingback: A Resolution for Self-Acceptance « Teacher Goes Back to School

  6. No word yet, but I do my best to make every day meaningful. For the days that are tougher, I review what happened and see what I can learn from it.

  7. Pingback: Saturday Senses « Teacher Goes Back to School

Leave a comment