In Case You Missed It Edition, Volume 17

{via}

Each week I’ll give you links to posts that made me laugh, cry, think or at least raise an eyebrow. Please click the links and check out the posts. You may find something that rocks your world too.

Leave me some feedback in the form of comments below on what you liked, what you hated and what you’d like to see more of. I’m here to help you find the best of what is online.

++++++

My Best Of…

Hollee over at The New Perfect talks about how she hates blogging because she feels every post must be perfect (holla). She also admits she may have a tiny author crush on our favorite TED talk (researcher) storyteller,  Brene Brown who wrote a new book called  The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are.

I’d love to start a book club with this book. Are you interested?

+++++

Monday marks the 100th day of school for me which means 80 more until summer break! J and I are already talking about taking a trip this summer to….. wait for it…… San Francisco!

We grew up across the Bay from the City and now even though we live within 2 hours, we’ve never spent a proper holiday there. When we travel to SF, we do our thing and return either to the East Bay for a slumber party with friends or overnight with his mom or drive all the way back to Sacramento to sleep in our own bed.

Not this time! We’ve decided it is time to take the plunge and stay a few days in The City and play tourist.

Please leave a comment about your favorite thing to do, place to stay, and food not to miss in San Francisco.

The Simple Dollar also serves up 10 Things To Look For When Planning a Summer Vacation if you are also looking for inexpensive ways to fund your summer vacation.

+++++

Curvy Girls Unite!

I love, love, love Frocks and Frou Frou and this post Breaking the Rules knocks it out of the park. Lilly, the model and author behind this inspiring fashion blog, takes on the fashion do’s and don’ts.

Yoga Journal is holding a cover model talent search. Anna, the brilliant mind behind Curvy Yoga, is advocating that all the curvy yoga peeps submit their pictures for consideration. She’s taking it a step further and is asking for photos for an upcoming post featuring all the curvy folks in their favorite poses.

Wouldn’t you love to see more realistic body shapes on the cover of Yoga Journal?

I am totally in.

We’re thinking about setting up a little photo shoot – want to join in the fun?

+++++

Wolves – I laughed until I cried. It’s wrong, but it’s funny.

+++++

Cleanse update:  It’s OVER!

Please don’t think I am going to return to my earlier ways. At least not all of them – I feel too good to go back now. I learned a lot this month:

I am, indeed, gluten intolerant.  Rice substitutes are quite delicious and fairly easily available so I’ll keep those.

Dairy has been on my mind for a month and I am hoping to have a smooth reintroduction. Visions of gulping a gallon of milk while holding a fist full of cheese have been dancing around in my head for a while, but I think I’ll take it slow. I would hate to over do it.

Cleanse-worthy dishes are quite delicious. All it takes it some planning, shopping, chopping and applying heat before you eat. Keeping in mind this is an act of self-care/love will help keep that in perspective.

+++++

That is the In Case You Missed It Edition for this week, folks.

Remember to click the links and leave some comments. This is a conversation, you know.

In Case You Missed Edition Archives -click it to see them all.

14 thoughts on “In Case You Missed It Edition, Volume 17

  1. Hi Tami,

    Would love to be part of a curvy yogi shoot–so important to practice where one’s body actually is now, be it the practice of yoga, dance, et al!

    Not sure what you need from me; please contact me to let me know how to participate. Thanks!

    Ann

  2. Ok- now that I’m caught up on all the posts, I’d be game for the curvy yoga shoot. Hoping my big age difference is not a problem. You have my contact info- just let me know if you want another model. Sounds like fun.

  3. why don’t we get the iay book club back in biz, ala like it “used to be”?

    my favorite yogis are curvy and real and beautiful.

  4. Thanks again for sharing the curvy love–and for introducing me to the uber-fab Frocks and Frou Frou. And for pointing out a new “Hyperbole and a Half” post! Gawd, I love that site so much; I could barely breathe I was laughing and crying so hard when I read “The Year Kenny Loggins Ruined Christmas.” If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it.

Leave a comment